EMASA 2014

Education Management Association of South Africa
in partnership with Sci-Bono Discovery Centre




Sci-Bono Discovery Centre, Johannesburg
5-7 September 2014




Finding New Trails in the Changing Education Landscape


Keynote Speakers

MEC for Education in Gauteng, Mr Panyaza Lesufi, will be addressing the 15th Annual EMASA Conference held at Sci-Bono Discovery Centre between 5 and 7 September 2014. Mr Lesufi was the acting Director general of the Department of Basic Education and Special Advisor to the Minister of Basic Education before his appointment as MEC for Education in Gauteng. He also co-chaired the Forum of South African Directors General’s Human Development Sub-committee. Among others he is a recipient of the University of Natal’s Chief Albert Luthuli Award, presented to him by former President, Thabo Mbeki.

Ken Brien is an Associate Professor of Educational Administration and Leadership in the Faculty of Education at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, Canada. His research and teaching interests include educational law, policy, and governance along with matters associated with organizational leadership, culture, and learning. His most recent research has examined the concept of professional learning communities and the application of these principles at the school, district, and provincial levels of a school system. He is currently supervising doctoral students engaged in research on effective leadership, the principalship, school improvement planning, and organizational learning. Prior his position at UNB, he served for 15 years as a high school teacher and administrator. He is currently the President of the Canadian Association for the Study of Educational Administration (CASEA) and of the Commonwealth Council for Educational Administration and Management (CCEAM). He has delivered leadership training and development presentations in St. Lucia and Guyana, and has presented his research in Cyprus, Greece, the United Kingdom, Australia, and South Africa. Most recently, he was the conference organizing committee chair for the highly successful 2014 CCEAM conference held in Canada.